Jhajjar district is one of the 22 districts of Haryana state in northern India. Carved out of Rohtak district on 15 July 1997 and with its headquarters in Jhajjar, it lies 29 kilometres (18 mi) from Delhi and had developed into an important industrial center. Other towns in the district are Bahadurgarh and Beri. Total geographical area of the districtis 1834 sq.km. Administratively, the district is controlled by Rohtak division. It is divided into three tehsils namely Jhajjar and Bahadurgarh & Beri, and subdivided into 5 development blocks namely Jhajjar Beri, Bahadurgarh, Matenhail and Salahwas.